Awards Prizes and Special Prizes 2023

Stand: 11.09.2023

Altogether, four first, five second as well as four third prizes were awarded during the 2022 Competition in the following categories: Harp, Double Bass, Piano Trio and Viola. Meret Forster and Falk Häfner, the two artistic directors of the ARD Music Competition: "We are delighted about top musical performances and outstanding prize winners! The number of participants, the extremely high level of playing, and the enthusiasm of the audience stand once again for the success and international importance of the ARD Music Competition."

Alle Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger des ARD-Musikwettbewerbs 2023 | Picture: Daniel Delang

Prizes Main Prizes

1st Prize: Tjasha Gafner, Switzerland
2nd Prize: Alexandra Bidi, France
2nd Prize: Lea Maria Löffler, Germany

Double Bass
1st Prize: Gabriel Polinsky, USA
2nd Prize: Hongyiu Thomas Lai, Hong Kong
3rd Prize: José Trigo, Portugal

Piano Trio
1st Prize: Trio Orelon
2nd Prize: Amelio Trio
3rd Prize: Trio Pantoum

1st Prize: Haesue Lee, Korea
3rd Prize: Takehiro Konoe, Japan
3rd Prize: Ionel Ungureanu, Germany

Prizes Spezial Prizes

Audience Prizes
made possible by the Theodor-Rogler-Foundation

  • Tjasha Gafner, Harp
  • Hongyiu Thomas Lai, Double Bass
  • Trio Orelon, Piano Trio
  • Haesue Lee, Viola

Special Prizes for the best Interpretation of a Commissioned Composition
made possible by the Alice-Rosner-Foundation

  • by Edith Canat de Chizy: Âlexandra Bidi, Harp
  • by Gordon Kampe: Naomi Shaham, Double Bass
  • by Malin Bång: Trio Bohémo, Piano Trio
  • by Alberto Posadas: Ionel Ungureanu, Viola

Special Prize of the Munich Chamber Orchestra
Naomi Shaham, Double Bass

BR-KLASSIK Online Prize
Trio Pantoum, Piano Trio

Special Prize Sweet Spot
Noelia Cotuna Rizea, Harp

The Alice-Rosner-Foundation awards for an excellent interpretation of Bohuslav Martinu's Trio No. 3 C-Major
Trio Bohemo, Piano Trio

Osnabrück Music Prize
Haesue Lee, Viola

Busch Brothers Prize
Gabriel Polinsky, Double Bass

Special Prize Walter Kaminsky Foundation
Julia Dietrich, Harp
Alexander Weiskopf, Double Bass

Henle Urtext Prize
Amelio Trio, Piano Trio
Trio Orelon, Piano Trio
Trio Pantoum, Piano Trio

Special Prize Mozart Society Munich
Naomi Shaham, Double Bass

Special Prize GENUIN classics
Tjasha Gafner, Harp

Special Prize Schwarzwald Music Festival
Trio Orelon, Piano Trio

Special Prize “Podium for young Soloists” Tegernsee
Noelia Cotuna Rizea, Harp

Special Prize of Jeunesses Musicales Germany
Trio Bohémo, Piano Trio

Special Prize GEWA
Takehiro Konoe, Viola
Haesue Lee, Viola
Ionel Ungureanu, Viola

Special Prize Atelier Marillon
Trio Orelon, Piano Trio